Heritage Walks - banks of the Garonne
The itinerary suggested offers the most beautiful views of the city and its river. Eighteen remarkable monuments are detailed here so that visitors can discover and arrive at a better understanding of the identity of Toulouse.
The majestic stone façade and the main building looking out onto the Garonne are the work of architect Pierre Esquié. Commissioned in 1895, they form part of a succession of wings of the ancient Benedictine monastery and combine to create a single entity.
The façade is decorated with allegorical statues representing Painting, Sculpture, Engraving and Architecture surrounded by medallions that pay tribute to French artists, all illustrating this venues true vocation. Founded in 1750, the very first provincial Royal Academy was initially based at Le Capitole, and then at the Augustins Convent in 1804. It moved when the rue de Metz was excavated and it set up home in the former La Daurade monastery, which had since become a cotton mill and later a tobacco factory. Today the Higher Institute of Arts of Toulouse no longer teaches architecture, but it has added a centre for advanced studies in music and dance.