MAISON SEILHAN - MAISON DE L'INQUISITION (SAINT DOMINIQUE)
In 1215, Pierre Seilhan hosted Saint Dominic at his home and petitioned him to make it the cradle of the Order of Friar Preachers. This is a venue charged with ancient history.
Backing on to the former Gallo-Roman ramparts whose vestiges are still visible, the Maison Seilhan was home to the very first members of the Order of Friar Preachers – the first Dominican order –, who slept in the dormitory located in the upper hall. Finally, the brothers set up home at the Jacobins, but they continued to use this site until the end of the XVIII Century.
Here we can admire 6 tableaux by Verotius (1754) that represent the life of St Dominic, the furniture of Fr. Henri-Dominique Lacordaire who re-established the Order of Friar Preachers in France after the Revolution and a replica of the statue of Notre-Dame du Palais. The chapel boasts a ceiling painted by a Dominican friar in honour of St Dominic.
Reduced mobility access
Services & Facilities
Station:Palais de Justice